The World of Layonara  Forums

Author Topic: Emeralds with a cost  (Read 726 times)

Honora

Emeralds with a cost
« on: May 15, 2007, 01:40:15 pm »
As I said I would, here is a suggestion for a between-diamond-and-emerald jewelry recipe.  Please note:  I have no experience with jewelcrafting.  Suggestions welcome; it was my intent for those of us who will never see an emerald to have an option, albeit one that forces us to give up a little something.

Lalaith Va'lash

Re: Emeralds with a cost
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 01:51:00 pm »
I just wanted to say:

Engagement Ring    +3 Cha, -1 Int...

that really made me laugh ;)

As for the idea, I like it.  With a little balancing for the world I think it could be a good option.

D Blaze

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2007, 01:54:13 pm »
As neat and creative as this idea is, it wouldn't happen.

Sapphires and Diamonds are relatively easy to get with just a little effort and planning, way easier than Emeralds.

That small stat penalty could easily be overcome with one buff, if it is even important enough at all. What is -2 to any one stat you don't care too much about, when you get +6 to the one that is most important to you? You can easily use other items and spells to cover over that minor penalty, and you are good, a piece of emerald jewelry with only a minor inconvienence (one that could actually be abused during crafting)

Weeblie

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2007, 02:12:41 pm »
I have to agree with D Blaze on this. The difference between gathering all gems below Emeralds compared to getting the green ones themselves is HUGE (except for Rubies, as I have no clue where they can be found nor the difficult of finding them). A light year difference...

Min/maxing clearly proves that a small ability score penalty is of a minor issue. Penalties on items can very hardly offset a positive bonus.

Actually, the only reasonable "emerald jewelery but not made of emeralds" that I can think of would have penalties along these lines: