The World of Layonara  Forums

Author Topic: Bard spell - Amplify  (Read 331 times)

Skywatcher

Bard spell - Amplify
« on: July 19, 2007, 04:45:33 am »
Description: I cast this spell with my newly created bard and hoping to be able to overhear a conversation and it had no effect.  It says it adds +20 to listen checks but there was no difference on my listen check or on my screen that shows the skills.

Verified:

Reproducable: Yes

Marswipp

Re: Bard spell - Amplify
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2007, 01:10:16 pm »
Did you try rolling the check?
Playing D&D 3.5e, D&D 5e, Pathfinder, and exploring Starfinder through a VTT

Acacea

« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2007, 06:02:49 pm »
That's strange, I've been using the spell for a couple years or something in Layo without problem. It lasts for a very short time - maybe it simply wore off before the check got rolled? What level is your bard? It only lasts 6 seconds per level. I know it sounds like we look for all the dumb answers first...sorry, I just know I use it frequently to good effect.

Skywatcher

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2007, 06:55:47 pm »
Well it may be that it wore off.  She is a new bard and is only 3rd level.  I thought I did the check right after I cast it but maybe I waited to many seconds.  I'll check it out again.

Skywatcher

« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2007, 05:42:04 pm »
Yep you were right.  It just wore off fast.  Sorry for being so dense.

Talan Va'lash

« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2007, 08:55:49 pm »
I've Always thought it was odd how amplify and clairvoyance/clairaudience were such short duration compared to all the spells that have more of an impact on game mechanics. While amplify and clairvoyance/clairaudience do have a game mechanics purpose it's very weak compared to say, true seeing, which serves the same purpose and is just better (though higher level.)