The World of Layonara  Forums

Author Topic: speeling problams  (Read 1654 times)

Murgleys

• View Profile
    speeling problams
    « on: March 14, 2005, 09:18:00 pm »
    Okay.  Now I know many of you may think me a goober for saying this and, I am, I guess, but if I can overcome a small language handicap and spell words correctly most of the time then I imagine everyone else can, too.  I am an English teacher in Japan.  That means I actually wince anytime I see words spelled incorrectly or glaring bad grammar used.  I recognize in character dialogue as such and know when it's being done deliberately and when it isn't.  Learning to spell everything correctly is a must if you wish to fully grasp the language in which you communicate in.  If you have even the slightest doubt about a word you're using, check it, learn it and get it right forever more.
    Yes, I get lazy, too, and lapse, but I've had to train myself to reread everything I write due to that little language problem I have (which is why most of my posts are edited.)  Gamers, as a whole, are some of the smartest and, obviously, most creative people I have ever known.  Unfortunately, as a whole, gamers tend to be lazy about many things that don't have much or anything directly to do with games, including their English usage.  Well, good English means good story telling and that means good rping.  -sheesh-  I DO sound like a teacher now, don't I?  *shaking head* I'm getting too old and cranky...  
    OH... to you kids still in JHS or HS (young adults, sorry) this is not a request for you but a demand.  Learn the right way, now, and you'll thank yourself later, particularly in college when you most certainly WILL HAVE more than one English professor brow beat you with a dictionary and/or grammar book.  Or they'll just give you an "F" if they don't care because you don't care either.