The World of Layonara  Forums

Author Topic: This is orth  (Read 416 times)

orth

This is orth
« on: March 12, 2007, 06:35:25 pm »
Hello everyone,

This seems to be a popular forum and since I don't have a GM introduction I thought I'd take the time to let everyone know a little more about myself too.

My names is James, 32 years old living in a Toronto suburb.  I work as a Bookkeeper/Office Manager.  I have no wife nor children but 5 brothers and 4 sisters. (Yes all from the same parents).

I found Layonara in October 2003. I had spent many years on MUDs since 1994 but Layonara was my first graphic roleplay experience, (unless you count Diablo, which you shouldn't).  For those of you unfamilar with a MUD, it is a roleplay experience where all actions are typed, all interaction is text based. The deity I worshipped on one particular mud was named Orthwein, the God of Fate. Later on in my online life, I started using orthwein as a username, and it eventually got dropped to orth as that was all anyone would call me.

Anyway, Layonara blew me away, I found a creative outlet that was missing and was able to write a story with many others whom I developed strong friendships with plus have a lot of action and problem solving stimulation.  Plenarius was always there for me when I needed to just enjoy myself and escape for a while.

After a few months in Layonara, on the suggestion of Nita Thompson I applied for GM along with OneST8 and we were both accepted. In hindisight, I still think it was kind of early with my Layonara experience as some of the mystique is lost once you become a GM. But I don't regret the choice one iota.