The World of Layonara  Forums

Author Topic: you and your character  (Read 369 times)

zerpa

• View Profile
    you and your character
    « on: July 25, 2005, 12:38:00 pm »
    I am new to Layonara, but more importantly to D&D and role playing in general, so pardon if I sound naive. (I actually don't interact online much at all, save for mountains of email). As I start to develop my own character, I find myself increasingly interested in other peoples' process. I would love to hear folk's thoughts on their character and its relationship to themselves.

Some questions that cross my mind....

How did you choose and develop your character? Is your character like yourself? Or someone you know? Do you feel what your character feels (fear, courage, awe, excitement etc)? Or is it all acting? In other words, is there a clear line between you and your character?

Did you do lots of thinking and planning before developing your character, or are you making it up as you go along?

What is it like when you have several characters?

Also very frequently I find myself wondering what the people behind the characters are like. I often feel the urge to break out in a RL chat, but I know that's a "no-no." Does one get to know the real people behind the characters as well?

This a brand new world to me and very fascinating. I look forward to your comments.

regnus

RE: you and your character
    « Reply #1 on: July 25, 2005, 01:30:00 pm »
    How did you choose and develop your character?