The World of Layonara  Forums

Author Topic: Roleplaying Charisma  (Read 1186 times)

Ioskeha

Roleplaying Charisma
« on: September 22, 2005, 02:03:00 pm »
I'm relatively new to playing DnD.  I've only been playing it for seven or so months now.  I have no experience with playing DnD outside of NWN; all my role-playing experience has come from playing MUDs.  With that said I think the hardest stat for me to role-play is Charisma.  

In MUDs that have used this stat I've always thought of them as your characters base personality.  If you have a high Charisma your character will most likely have a positive outlook on life, if it's low then they'll tend to have a negative outlook.  Now I'm not saying that a character with a high Charisma score couldn't have a negative personality or vice versa, but more along the lines of decision making.  Like lets stay that you're in a party.  This party has decided to setup an ambush.  A charcter with a higher then average Charisma would think that this ambush would work with little to no harm to the part, while a character with a lower then average Charisma would think that this ambush is a bad idea and that too many people would be injured, and a character with average Charisma would follow the general flow of the party.

How far off is my reasoning with this?

Tedulas

• View Profile
    RE: Roleplaying Charisma
    « Reply #1 on: September 22, 2005, 02:58:00 pm »
    To be honest, I don't really role-play charisma, apart from the fact I scare people...litterarry I am a necromancer with charisma 8. But, I tend to sometimes take leadership role in parties, or leave it to someone else.
    Wouldn't worry too much about that in my opinion.

SquareKnot

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2005, 03:14:00 pm »